OneDrive for Business retention and deletion


OneDrive for Business retention and deletion

Their OneDrive for Business will be preserved for 30 days. You’re the temporary owner of all documents saved to their OneDrive for Business.

Reason

When a OneDrive for Business site collection is scheduled for deletion, the default action is to transfer ownership of the site to the manager of the original work account or school account that is being deleted. For this to occur, the user profile Manager Property must be set for the original owner of the OneDrive for Business site. For more go to OneDrive retention

For this to occur, the user profile Manager Property and Access Delegation need to be set for the deleted user before deleting it. To do that, as a global admin or SharePoint admin, please follow the steps below: 
1. Go to the SharePoint admin center
2. Click User profiles > People > Manage User Profiles > Find the user account to deleted > Edit my profile > Manager > type the manager account into the box > Save and Close

Go to central admin

Then Edit my profile

Make sure the manager is there

 Go to SharePoint admin center > User profiles > My Site Settings > Setup My Sites > My Site Cleanup > tick Enable access delegation> Secondary Owner as below:

Access Delegation option in the central admin
must be enabled

Now as a manager or secondary owner you will be able to access when you receive the Email

Their OneDrive for Business will be preserved for 30 days. You’re the temporary owner of all documents saved to their OneDrive for Business.

https://domain-my.sharepoint.com/personal/username_domain_com/_layouts/viewlsts.aspx

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s